HuffPost Sports tournament coverage

At last, the field of 68 teams for the 2012 men’s NCAA basketball tournament has been revealed. It’s time to print your brackets and get started distinguishing the unheralded Cinderella squads who will be wearing glass high tops from those high-profile pretenders who don’t have what it takes to navigate the madness of March.

Click HERE for a printable 2012 NCAA tournament bracket!

With the conclusion of various conference tournaments, the selection committee weighed the merits of all teams hoping for a ticket to the dance and burst the bubbles of those not deemed worthy. The field is revealed and the brackets are being printed (CLICK HERE) and we’re just days away from the entire nation being overwhelmed by March Madness.

Kentucky, Syracuse, North Carolina and Michigan State claimed the No. 1 seeds, with the Wildcats earning the top overall seed after completing a dominant 32-2 season out of the SEC. Although coach Cal’s ‘Cats were upset by Vanderbilt in the final of the SEC Tournament there is no doubting their dominance over the long haul of the season.

The four first round games — popularly referred to as the play-in games — will be contested on March 13 and 14 in Dayton and the full-fledged wall-to-wall chaos will begin with the second round on March 15-16. The third round will run through the 17 and 18, while the Sweet 16 and Elite Eight games will go through the 22-25.

The 2012 Final Four will take place in New Orleans at the Mercedes-Benz Superdome and the national semifinals will tip off on March 31 with the championship game to be played on April 2.

Scroll down to check out the seeds.


1. North Carolina
2. Kansas
3. Georgetown
4. Michigan 
5. Temple
6. San Diego State
7. St. Mary’s
8. Creighton 
9. Alabama 
10. Purdue
11. NC State
12.* California/South Florida
13. Ohio
14. Belmont
15. Detroit
16.* Lamar/Vermont


1. Michigan State 
2. Missouri
3. Marquette
4. Louisville 
5. New Mexico 
6. Murray State
7. Florida
8. Memphis 
9. Saint Louis 
10. Virginia
11. Colorado State
12. Long Beach State 
13. Davidson
14. BYU/Iona
15. Norfolk State 
16. LIU-Brooklyn


1. Syracuse
2. Ohio State
3. Florida State
4. Wisconsin
5. Vanderbilt 
6. Cincinnati
7. Gonzaga 
8. Kansas State 
9. Southern Mississippi 
10. West Virginia 
11. Texas
12. Harvard 
13. Montana
14. St. Bonaventure 
15. Loyola (MD)
16. UNC-Asheville


1. Kentucky
2. Duke
3. Baylor
4. Indiana
5. Wichita State
7. Notre Dame
8. Iowa State
9. UConn
10. Xavier
11. Colorado
12. VCU
13. New Mexico State 
14. South Dakota State
15. Lehigh
16. Mississippi Valley State / Western Kentucky

From live blogs of all the in-game action to comprehensive coverage of all the madness, on and off the court, throughout the duration of the Big Dance will bring you all the madness that you can handle.